marketplacenomad.blogg.se

Best free git gui client for windows
Best free git gui client for windows








best free git gui client for windows
  1. BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS HOW TO
  2. BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS PORTABLE
  3. BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS SOFTWARE
  4. BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS LICENSE
  5. BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS PLUS

Now I love a good IDE as much as anyone (I’ve urged and coached many developers to move from an editor to an IDE), but I don’t agree with the notion that source control must always be in the IDE. IDE-integrated source control can be very useful, but there are sometimes cases where non-integrated source control wins.

BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS SOFTWARE

It is almost as though for this group, multitasking does not exist, and any need to run more than one piece of software at the same time is a defect. I know people who swear by their IDE experience, and are aghast at the thought of any daily-use dev tool that is not integrated with their IDE. Five year ago I thought of that as a caveat but today, Java-based GUIs can be extremely attractive and fast, so I don’t see as a problem at all. SmartGit requires a Java runtime, implying that it is written in Java.

BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS LICENSE

I don’t know how SmartGit fits in with the Git licensing Git is licensed GPL (v2), so I assume (hope?) SmartGit has found some way to use it under the hood without linking to it in a way that would cause license trouble. It also appears to be quite feature-rich. It appears to be more polished than the others, as is often the case with commercial products. Unlike the other tools listed here, SmartGit is a commercial product (from a German company), starting at around $70. Git Extensions is free open source software, and is under active development. From the screen shots, it appears to be feature-rich and complete. This Git GUI has a shell extension (like the Tortoise family) and also a plugin for Visual Studio. TortoiseGit is free open source software, and is under active development. If you like and use TortoiseSVN, you’ll probably find this worth a try. This is an attempt to port TortoiseSVN to git, yielding TortoiseGit. Mike Rowe (a reader) helpfully suggested this msysgit tour, which is very helpful though a bit dated. That was a long time ago for me, but might be Right Now for people reading this post.

BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS HOW TO

I could have really used a video walkthrough of how to be productive with it, back when I was starting out. My biggest gripe with msysgit (and its GUI) is that I had to figure out how to use it effectively myself.

BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS PORTABLE

There is even a portable (zero-install) version available. It is under active development, and keeps up with the upstream Git versions reasonably well.

best free git gui client for windows

If you don’t know where to start, or if you want a Linux-like Git experience, start with msysgit and learn to use its tools. I don’t mind the ugly (I get my fix of stylish software over on my Mac…), and I find the features ample for most work. These tools are a bit ugly, but have good and useful functionality.

BEST FREE GIT GUI CLIENT FOR WINDOWS PLUS

Msysgit includes the same Tk-based GUI tools as Git on Linux: a commit tool and a repo-browse tool, plus a bit of shell integration to active the GUI by right-clicking in Windows Explorer, plus a new thing call git-cheetah, which appears to be heading toward Tortoise-style integration. It is based on MSYS, so it fits in the Windows ecosystem a bit better than the cygwin Git port. Msysgit is the main project which ships a Windows port of Git. There is also a very long list of Git tools on the main Git wiki but that page is just a list, without any other information. I can offer this list of choices, though, along with some thoughts about them. I use msysgit (and its included GUI) most often myself, but I don’t have a clear answer as to which is the “best” Git GUI for Windows. Since then I’ve switched to 75% Mac OSX, but I still use Git on Windows for a few projects, and I get a lot of questions about Git on Windows. In my config Ctrl+G opens a new GfW bash console tab while Ctrl+B (B for bash I guess) opens a new cygwin bash console tab.I adopted Git as my primary source control tool a couple of years ago, when I was using Windows as my primary (90%) desktop OS. I occasionally use cygwin when I need a bash tool that doesn't come with the GfW environment, which doesn't happen too much since it does have most of what I need for general use and all of what you need to use Git.Įdit: I use ConEmu, which I recommend but which can be kind of hard to configure to your liking. I would describe GfW as much more robust than git under cygwin due to its more narrow scope and excellent maintenance. In fact, its tools are built on msys2, which is basically a fork/variant of cygwin with a different (not as broad) focus. It's a well-maintained fork and a lot of its windows-compatibility patches are accepted into upstream, which keeps the gap between upstream and GfW as small as possible. The latest version of git under cygwin looks like 2.8.2-1 while GfW is on 2.10.2. GfW is forked from/synced with upstream and has exactly the same interface (command line as well as the git GUI).










Best free git gui client for windows